30 (-plus) Days of Blog

In early May I set a goal of blogging for 30 days. I just added up all of my entries (I took weekends and holidays off) and I’m at the big 3-3. A milestone! Not only did I accomplish my goal, I outdid myself.

So now what?

Now I keep blogging.

It’s been an eye-opening experience. Before May, I would try to blog. I would attend events I planned to blog about. I would think about blogging and feel guilty for not blogging, but there was some kind of mental block that kept me from actually doing it.

Forcing myself to do it every day has not only made it a habit, it’s made me evaluate what I want to write about, when I want to write it and more. I’ve covered a bit of everything in the last month or so, from the story of how I met my man to the Lobster Zone to aliens, flash mobs, Jesus beans and on. I’ve commented on news, planted a garden, reported on some of my own adventures. Along the way, I’ve started looking at my own experiences differently. I’ll snap a photo while I’m doing whatever it is I’m doing, in case I want to write about it. I’ll stare at people on the El, willing them to mind-meld blog ideas. I’ll waiting in line 30 minutes for a damn doughnut so I have something to say.

What I’ve enjoyed most, though, is writing for myself. After 11 years of being paid to write for others, it’s been nice to reconnect with me. I also love the instant gratification of knowing I actually have readers! Looking at comments, stats, etc., it’s almost like being back in the newsroom. I’ve enjoyed the ongoing conversation, and am looking forward to much more to come.

Have a great weekend! I’ll be in New York next week for work (details on that to come) so will likely be taking a few days off, but I promise, I won’t make a habit of it.

Leave a Reply

